US Census Records Mortality Schedules 1850-1880

Finding Deceased People in Nonpopulation Census Records

For the census years 1850, 1860, 1870 and 1880, names and some basic details were recorded for some people who died in the year prior to the census being taken (not all states are included). These records usually have the deceased person's name, age, sex, race, occupation, month of death, cause of death and sometimes other details. Note that some deceased people may have been missed when these schedules were taken.

These census mortality schedules generally cover these dates...
  • June 1, 1849 - May 31, 1850
  • June 1, 1859 - May 31, 1860
  • June 1, 1869 - May 31, 1870
  • June 1, 1879 - May 31, 1880
The schedules are not available for all states and years.

Census Mortality Schedules Online
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules 1850-1885 at Ancestry (requires payment)
    Some census mortality schedules are available online as part of Ancestry's U.S. genealogy records collection. An Ancestry subscription also includes online access to indexes of the U.S. federal census records 1790-1940, and digitized images of the census records from the microfilm.

    Ancestry's Mortality Schedules Database presently includes some records for various years and counties from these states...
    Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah Territory, Vermont, Virginia (includes West Virginia for 1850 and 1860), Washington Territory and Wisconsin. New York has a separate database. See...

  • U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880 at Ancestry (requires payment)
  • 1850 US Census Mortality Schedules from FamilySearch (free with registration) for Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. 1850 census mortality schedules are not available for other states.
For information about U.S. federal decennial (every ten years) census records see... Census Records - Online Tips, Indexes and Clues 1790-1940

Online Death Indexes & Records

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Dist of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois
Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana
Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania
Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Death Indexes Main Page | Genealogy Records & Resources | Social Security Death Index

© 2005-2018 Joe Beine
May not be reproduced without permission

Suggest a Site/Report a Broken Link | Privacy and Disclaimer